May 3rd, 2005 marks a historical date in the pop punk genre, with Chicago’s Fall Out Boy releasing their 2nd album From Under The Cork Tree.

Released through Island Records, Fall Out Boy’s From Under The Cork Tree turned into one of the most recognisable and influential albums to come out of the 2005-2007 core of emo music.

Composed by frontman Patrick Stump, with lyrics penned by bassist Pete Wentz, the pop punk outfit took significant influence from their debut album Take This To Your Grave, making their second record take off with even more oomph than their first.

It’s shone through as being a key album to rise from the mid 2000s, where it was seen at the time in Rolling Stone‘s list of 40 Greatest Emo Albums Of All Time, complete with memorable lyrics, kicking beats, and melodies that get you into a new groove of classic, emo sound.

With the record playing a crucial role in any 20-somethings formative teenage years, we decided to take a look back as to just why From Under The Cork Tree is such a revered album.

Check out ‘Dance Dance’ by Fall Out Boy:


“Fall Out Boy taught me teenage angst could have intellectual wit. ‘Sugar, We’re Goin Down’ was my entry point to a lifelong love affair with these four ratbags who made self-professed ‘Chicago soft-core’.

“How could one band encapsulate everything I was feeling – the ennui, the insecurity, the unbridled sass – all while making me want to feel more of it?

“It was also the first time a band really got away with having verbose song titles that often had no connection to the song. Fall Out Boy and Panic! At The Disco were releasing audacious tweets with their track-listings before Twitter was even a thing.

“Imagine opening an album with a three-minute song titled ‘Our Lawyer Made Us Change The Name Of This Song So We Wouldn’t Get Sued’? Now that’s a level of rebellion I could get behind at 15-years-old.

Love Pop Music?

Get the latest Pop Music news, features, updates and giveaways straight to your inbox Learn more

“When I finally got to see them live, I cried. It was a build up of dreaming for that moment for so long and all my emotions that only they seemed to be able to vocalise. They knew it too, why else would they write the lyric: “I could write it better than you ever felt it” on ‘Hum Hallelujah’ for 2007’s Infinity On High?

“Fall Out Boy was my barometer for friendships and relationships too; if you couldn’t recite lyrics we couldn’t be friends.

“But they were also my source of ammunition for a breakup: you best believe I sent someone the lyrics “why don’t you show me a little bit of spine you’ve been saving for his mattress” and “I only want sympathy in the form of you crawling into bed with me” from ‘Dance Dance’.

“I owe From Under The Cork Tree a lot, least of which my ability to find my people using three little letters: FOB.”

Poppy Reid, Managing Editor of The Brag Media and Rolling Stone Australia

Check out Fall Out Boy’s ‘Sugar, We’re Goin Down’:


“There aren’t that many albums which affected me in the same way that Fall Out Boy’s From Under The Cork Tree did, but then again, there aren’t that many bands like Fall Out Boy.

“I was a young teenager when I first heard about the group, with their name appearing on my radar thanks to an email from the iTunes Music Store. Sure, I might have first thought they were a hip-hop outfit (for reasons I’ll never quite understand), but when I heard ‘Dance, Dance’ on Channel V just a few months later, I not only realised I had some catching up to, but that my world had just been changed.

“YouTube wasn’t yet around, so you can imagine how often I sat by my TV, hoping to hear the track repeated at some point. Eventually I figured waiting was a cruel game I was playing with myself, so I ventured out into the world, pooling my pocket money to buy a copy of From Under Cork Tree.

“I brought it home, put it on my CD player, and immersed myself in this world I never knew I wanted to be a part of. From the opening notes of ‘Our Lawyer Made Us Change The Name Of This Song So We Wouldn’t Get Sued’, I was amazed.

“This majestic mix of lyrical prowess, furious delivery, and energetic playing hit me like a tidal wave. But above it all, there was something so special about it all. Was it Pete Wentz’ uncanny ability to turn a phrase? Was it Patrick Stump’s intoxicating vocals? Or was it this mesmerising mix of pop-punk instrumentation, blended with this undeniable vulnerability in the lyrics?

“I couldn’t tell, but what I did know was that I couldn’t turn it off. I was endlessly hooked, and with every listen of the record, I discovered something new. Hell, 15 years later, I’m still discovering a misheard lyric or a new way to interpret a line.

“Above all though, it changed me. It told me that music didn’t have to be soulless stadium rock, done for the sole purpose of making a buck, or bland acoustic compositions that even a surfing movie soundtrack wouldn’t touch. You could pour your heart into the lyrics, exercise some artistic integrity, and still create an album that could deeply affect your listeners.

“I still find it impossible to listen to ‘7 Minutes In Heaven (Atavan Halen)’ without thinking it has to be one of the greatest songs ever written. Even as a budding musician, the record inspired me to do better.

“I tried to imitate Stump’s vocals on every chorus, I tried to write guitar lines like they did, and you better believe I tried my best to imitate Wentz’ lyrical skills with one abandoned song called ‘I Tried To Write A Fall Out Boy Song And Ended Up With This Terrible Rip-Off’ (which was just as self-aware as you might expect).

“15 years on though, From Under The Cork Tree is an album that keeps on giving. Its phenomenal writing and exceptional compositions are first-class, and its one of those rare albums which, in my opinion, can only be played in full.

“There’s no half-measures when it comes to this record; you start at track one, and finished with their Elliott Smith-referencing ‘XO’, 12 songs later. From Under The Cork Tree changed my life, and I couldn’t be happier.”

Tyler Jenke, Editor of Rolling Stone Australia

Check out Fall Out Boy’s ‘Our Lawyer Made Us Change The Name Of This Song So We Wouldn’t Get Sued’:


From Under The Cork Tree by Fall Out Boy

Fall Out Boy's 2nd album from May 3rd, 2005 – 'From Under The Cork Tree'

1. ‘Our Lawyer Made Us Change The Name Of This Song So We Wouldn’t Get Sued’
2. ‘Of All The Gin Joints In All the World’
3. ‘Dance Dance’
4. ‘Sugar, We’re Goin Down’
5. ‘Nobody Puts Baby In The Corner’
6. ‘I’ve Got A Dark Alley And A Bad Idea That Says You Should Shut Your Mouth (Summer Song)’
7. ‘7 Minutes In Heaven (Atavan Halen)’
8. ‘Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of The Year’
9. ‘Champagne For My Real Friends, Real Pain For My Sham Friends’
10. ‘I Slept With Someone In Fall Out Boy And All I Got Was This Stupid Song Written About Me’
11. ‘A Little Less Sixteen Candles, A Little More “Touch Me”‘
12. ‘Get Busy Living Or Get Busy Dying (Do Your Part To Save The Scene And Stop Going To Shows)’
13. ‘XO’

Check out the album below: