Globe conquering Sydney outfit 5 Seconds of Summer have announced their fourth studio album, Calm. Due out on March 27, it’s the band’s first release via Interscope Records.

Interscope is best known for its challenging artist roster that disrupted popular music throughout the ’90s and noughties – Eminem, Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails are some of the label’s best known acts from that period. However, perhaps more pertinent to 5SOS fans is the fact Interscope signed Billie Eilish in 2016 and has been there for her massive rise ever since.

‘No Shame’, Calm’s third single, is out now. Happy Perez co-produced the song and its widescreen sound recalls the producer’s recent work with Charli XCX and Lana Del Rey.

Listen: 5 Seconds of Summer – No Shame

5SOS started drip feeding us singles from the new record nine months ago. The chart-busting ‘Easier’ came out in May and a Charlie Puth-featuring remix arrived three months later (Puth co-wrote and produced the original track).

The band released its next single, ‘Teeth’, in conjunction with the Netflix series 13 Reasons Why. There’s a stark contrast between the two tracks – ‘Easier’ is a sly dance pop number while ‘Teeth’ is influenced by industrial rock and 1980s new wave.

Here’s a curious bit of trivia: ‘Teeth’ samples Rihanna’s ‘Shut Up and Drive’, which in turn used sections of New Order’s ‘Blue Monday’. As a result, the four original members of New Order receive co-writing credits for ‘Teeth’ even though it contains no elements of ‘Blue Monday’.

Watch: Rihanna – Shut Up and Drive

5SOS’s last album was 2018’s Youngblood. It continued the major global success of their first two albums, going to number one in Australia and the USA. The record also marked a comprehensive move away from the band’s pop punk-inspired roots. Based on early evidence, Calm will also wholly embrace the pop world.

Can Luke Hemmings, Michael Clifford, Calum Hood and Ashton Irwin land their fourth consecutive ARIA and Billboard number one chart debut?